Salah and Mane - Sport and News blog in Nigeria
Mohammed Salah tested positive for covid-19
November 13, 2020
Pending bye-elections to hold on December 5th, 2020
November 13, 2020

Joe Biden, Democratic representative wins Arizona for the first time since 1996

Joe Biden has won the state of Arizona, United States networks said late Thursday, further cementing his lead in the Electoral College and flipping the state Democratic for the first time since 1996.

NBC, CBS, ABC and CNN projected Biden as the winner in the tight race with a lead of more than 11,000 ballots, giving him the state’s 11 electoral votes.

Fox News and The Associated Press called the race in the southwestern state in Biden’s favour on Election Night, triggering the wrath of President Donald Trump, but the other outlets held off on declaring a winner until after nine days of ballot counting.

US President Donald Trump speaks during a press conference in the Brady Briefing Room of the White House on September 16, 2020, in Washington, DC. MANDEL NGAN / AFP
A file photo of U.S. President Donald Trump. The Republican candidate has refused to acknowledge Biden as the winner of the election.

Arizona gives Biden a 290-217 lead over Trump in the Electoral College that ultimately decides the presidency, with 270 needed to win the White House.

Despite Biden being declared winner of the election on Saturday, Trump has refused to concede and continues to make baseless claims of election fraud.

Races in North Carolina and Georgia have yet to be called.

Since 1948 when Harry Truman won the state, Biden is the second Democrat to win Arizona. Although former President Bill Clinton narrowly won the state in 1996, Arizona moved further right in the next two decades.

In this file photo former US President Bill Clinton speaks at the fifth annual Town & Country Philanthropy Summit on May 9, 2018 at Hearst Tower in New York City. ANGELA WEISS / AFP

Source: Channels Tv

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.